The improved Giroud and where his future is at Arsenal

Morning folks, this has gotta be a really quick blog this morning as I’ve overslept and need to rush out, so we’ll crack right on with the small Arsenal related stuff that’s out there.

Firstly, Olivier Giroud has been talking to Official Arsenal Magazine about how much he’s improved since joining the club, he said

There are world-class players here. Even at training, there is more pace too so you need to be more focused, more aware, more committed and all of that makes you improve so much.

I had to adapt mostly to the challenges in matches. Here, it is a key part of the game. You need to use your body and be clever on how to jump for a header for example. I have improved massively on that.

He goes on to say a lot more positive comments and I gotta say I agree with him. He’s certainly improved many aspects of his games as the seasons gone on, most noticeably his positioning, strength and hold-up play. I disagree with those that say he’s not good enough for Arsenal, people don’t understand how difficult the first season in the Premier League is, especially from France. Besides, the stats show he’s done better in his first than Henry, Anelka, Drogba and many more, so he’s on the right track. He’s also a natural winner, he’s positive and is always wanting to improve, he’s also physically the kind of striker that could either flourish or flop, but that’s down to him.

And look, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we shouldn’t sign a new striker, because we absolutely should, but Giroud is a great second option to have and I can’t see why people would think differently. I think he’s also got the ability to create competition for places with whoever comes in and also the potential to push on and become a great player for us. We’ll see, though, like I said before, it’s down to him.

Who that new striker is I don’t know? Right now it looks like it’s between Higuain and Rooney based on the amount of rumours floating round Twitter, however I just get the feeling that neither of them seem like Wenger buys, I just can’t imagine it. You know when rumour after rumour floats around and the occasional one stands out because it feels right? I don’t get that with either of these two. Lewandowski, now I get it with him, and Cesc too, but maybe I’m being optimistic again.

Anyway, let’s just hope we get whatever business we need to wrapped up by mid-July so we can give them time to get used to their teammates during pre-season.

That’s all for today, thanks for reading, more tomorrow.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment